The Birth of a Leadership Blog

Welcome to the Command Performance Leadership blog; a blog dedicated to the discussion of military and corporate leadership competencies, as well as principled values, virtues and wisdom, to guide military and business professionals to victory.  The ideas, opinions and contributions to this blog’s discussions are intended to tie experiences and knowledge from military leadership to its application in a corporate environment.

This blog is a companion to an online LinkedIn group I started called Command Performance – Military and Corporate Leadership.  When I started that LinkedIn group, my goal was to discuss the synergies between military and corporate leadership and management, and to attract people who come from both the military and civilian worlds to offer their experience and knowledge about fundamental leadership skills.  This blog will serve the same purpose, and will hopefully produce the same results.

Additionally, I have been eager to write a book about military leadership.  I am (slowly) working on a book called “Military Leadership – Concepts of Command (The Comprehensive Study of the Leadership of the United States Military).”  Ultimately, the blog and the book will coexist here, and the pages of the book will evolve.

I have become quite fascinated with the multidimensional subject of leadership, and especially military leadership.  As a veteran of the United States Navy, I have a great deal of respect for those who serve our military, and those who lead them.  Throughout history, men like Julius Caesar, Napoleon, George Washington, Ulysses S. Grant, Dwight D. Eisenhower, George S. Patton Jr., William “Bull” Halsey, Chester Nimitz, Douglas MacArthur, and more recently H. “Stormin’ Norman” Schwarzkopf, Tommy Franks and David Petraeus, have excelled at the profession of arms because of their leading by example.

With all of this as the foundation, here we are today opening this blog.  I am excited to get all of this started.  I sincerely hope that you join me for this journey into the study of leadership, and that you follow and contribute to this wide-ranging discussion.

I am pleased that you have visited my blog.  This blog is meant to be informative and interactive.  I invite you to share your comments on any of the posts.  Additionally, I would like to hear from you.  Let me know what leadership topics we should discuss.  Under the Connect tab, on the right side of the blog’s main page, you will find links to my LinkedIn profile; feel free to connect.  Also, a link to my email is there.  I welcome your direct input via email.

I sincerely hope that you find this blog to be educational and inspiring.  Thank you for your support, and I look forward to blogging with you.

Dale R. Wilson

Copyright © Dale R. Wilson

11 Responses to “The Birth of a Leadership Blog”

  1. James Wood Says:

    Thanks for the link to your blog Dale. Looking forward to reading it and your future book. I’ve added you to my blog roll as well to get you some more traffic.

    Like

  2. Congrats and Good luck Dale! Trivial topic, lots of great lessons ahead, I hope.Cheers!

    Like

  3. I wish you luck. My only suggestion wold be to expand your leadership study to small group leaders. These young men and women will most likely never rise to the iconic status of say, an Eisenhower or Petreaus, and yet they exhibit the same traits and thought processes as the great leaders we all know and respect.

    Again, good luck.

    Like

    • Hi Stephen,

      Thank you! I wanted to let you know that this blog will discuss leadership at every level. What is unique, and absolutely vital, is the depth of leadership from the top echelon down to the lowest enlisted ranks (privates, 2nd Lieutenants) or mailroom level. Small group leadership (including TQL and Lean management) will most definitely be discussed. Stay tuned!

      Thanks for visiting the blog, and come back often. You’ll have many reasons to.

      Sincerely,

      Dale R. Wilson

      Like

      • Michael Campbell Says:

        Hi Dale,

        In this reply you mention future discussions will be centered on TQL and Lean Management. As a Certified LSS Black Belt this subject is one of my passions. Continuous Process Improvement (CPI) is a key tool in any leader’s toolbox as well as center to successful organizations.

        Good luck my friend in this and future endeavors.

        Your Friend

        Mike Campbell

        Like

  4. Michael Sibbel Says:

    What makes the difference between the person who leads, and a person who is a Leader? People will follow anybody (OWS movement, the current Administration, to name but a few), but what makes them follow some and not others? I would love to know the difference in why people will follow some, and not follow others. Is it in the Leadership? Is it in the person who is being led? Or is it a combination?

    But good luck with the blog and the book.

    Like

    • Some leaders have fancy titles, but no leadership skills. Quite simply, among many other things, a great leader has credibility with his/her people and organization. With that comes the trust and faith in the leader’s ability to carry the individual, the team, the ship, the platoon, the company (etc.) to mission accomplishment and success. Sometimes, however, there are poor followers. Those are the people who, regardless of the leader’s efforts to mentor and counsel them, will not succeed within that group. So, yes, it may very well be a combination…or, not. Whatever it is, we will discuss it in this blog. Stay tuned!!

      Thanks for visiting my blog, and for the kind words!

      Dale R. Wilson

      Like

  5. Dale,
    I connected through Philip Foster’s blog and have enjoyed your first few posts. You mentioned Lean Management in your comments and I wanted to suggest looking at the book “The Lean Startup” by Eric Ries. I’m still working through it but have found it extremely helpful in my own start up.
    Enjoy your journey
    Jim

    Like

  6. Hi Dale, look forward to connecting on these very critical topics in the future. Leadership is an essential part of success, and is a great thing to share.

    Like

  7. David Navarre Says:

    Dale, looking forward to reading your thoughts. Glad you liked my post on “Muddy Boots Leadership”. Major Chapman’s book is quite insightful. I’ve already seen good things here and look forward to following your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

