Reaching a Minor Milestone (and a retrospective)

This is my 50th published blog post, since the birth of this leadership blog on December 5th, 2011.  Not a very significant milestone, I admit, but one that I wanted to celebrate with this post.

In the less than four months of its existence, Command Performance Leadership has experienced some early successes.  It has attracted a diverse audience of people who have been interested in exploring the synergies between military and corporate leadership, as well as fellow bloggers from all across the blogosphere.  I sincerely hope that I have provided a quality, worthwhile resource on the internet, and that this blog has delivered on the expectations of those who have taken the time to find out more about the blog, and to learn what “Command Performance” leadership really means.

I continue to work on the blog’s organization, recently creating a Site Map to properly index and organize the posts according to topic, genre or feature.  The Site Map is intended to make it easier to navigate and surf the site to find content and archived posts.  This has also been done to allow new blog visitors to catch up on what they may have missed, avoiding the need for them to page back through pages and pages of older posts, or aimlessly searching categories or tags.

Creating a blog on WordPress has been a very interesting and exciting experience.  The blogosphere is one of the least known forms of social media, although it seems to get most of its attention on the topics of politics and economics.  It is my opinion that the blogosphere is cyberspace on steroids.  But, if you really want to meet some truly fascinating people, just start a blog; a blog about anything.  I have been introduced to people who I would have never met had it not been for this blog.

In the short four months that Command Performance Leadership has existed, the blog has had over 10,800 page views by people from over 90 countries around the World, and has attracted 119 followers.  Proof that if you build it, they will come.

The following is a list of the top posts since this blog started on December 5, 2011.  It’s not the traditional top ten.  Instead, I offer the top ‘baker’s dozen’:

  1. Toxic Leadership
  2. Schofield’s Definition of Discipline
  3. Good to Great (A Submariner’s Profile in Empowerment)

There are a few of my favorites that didn’t make the top thirteen that I think deserve an honorable mention.  Here are six of them:

  1. Leadership Effects (A Guest Blog Post from the Front Lines)

For some reason, one of my favorite posts has fallen to the very bottom of the rankings among all 50 of the posts.  I thought for sure that the post, “Merry Christmas,” would have gotten hundreds of hits.  I think that it didn’t get very many views because I posted it very early in the life of the blog; less than three weeks after it was started.  At that time, the blog had very few visitors and followers.  Maybe now that I have featured it here, it will get a little bit of a boost.  When you see the post, and watch the two videos, you’ll see why I say that.  Unfortunately, it is early Spring, and the true impact of these holiday videos will not be felt if you were to view them now, as we typically have a seasonal spirit around Christmas.

I sincerely appreciate all of the people who have visited my blog, especially those who have subscribed to be followers.  I am humbled by the blog’s success thus far, and will strive to continue to deliver quality content going forward.  Starting with this blog post, things will really get ramped up.  The frequency of my posts will increase, as will the in-depth discussion of leadership.  I invite you to continue this journey with me.  Thank you for your continued readership and support.

Dale R. Wilson

Copyright © Dale R. Wilson

21 Responses to “Reaching a Minor Milestone (and a retrospective)”

  1. Dale,

    Congratulations! It’s great that you are enjoying the blogging experience.

    Best regards,
    Chris

    Like

  2. Congratulations!

    Like

  3. Congratulations. You have become one of my most valuable resources, on where my blog is going as well as personally and professionally.

    Like

  4. Nice read. This blog is awesome.

    Like

  5. Keep up the good spirit and work Dale! And thanks for the top lists too, some hidden gems there:-) Congrats!

    Like

    • Pasi, Thank you for your comment and kind words. One of the reasons I was interested in publishing this post was to highlight some of the archives that some may not have seen. You can find more ‘gems’ if you click on the ‘Site Map’ to the right side of the main page. Thanks, again, for your loyal readership and following.

      Dale

      Like

  6. A noteworthy milestone. Many don’t reach it. Congratulations!

    Like

    • Thanks, Jacqui!! Why do you think many don’t reach it? I have seen a lot of blogs that I have subscribed to, since I started mine four months ago, that no longer send out posts.

      Thanks, again, Jacqui, for your continued readership and support. GO NAVY!!

      Dale

      Like

      • IMHO, I think people run out of content and feel like they’re writing to a void. Those two factors make them turn elsewhere. It takes a while to find a voice. That done, you can develop a readership. The trick is sticking it out until that happens.

        Like

  7. congrats!! that’s awesome for such a short time!

    Like

  8. Congrats! I pray your computer doesn’t get infested with viral terrorism. (aka viruses)

    Like

  9. Congratulations on your accomplishment! I enjoy reading your writing, keep up the good work.

    Like

  10. Jose LugoSantiago - Craft Your Journey! Says:

    Dale, congratulations on your milestone! I have enjoyed your posts and points of view. Sharing and achieving feel great, doesn’t it?! Always motivated, lugo

    Like

Leave a Reply

